History Smashers: Women's Right to Vote

From History Book By Book
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Industrial Age
HSWomensRightVote.jpg

History Smashers: Women's Right to Vote
Author: Messner, Kate
Buy at Amazon | BookShop.org

Time Period: Industrial Age
Time Frame: 1885-1920
Geographic Area: North America
Country: United States
Topics: , Women's Suffrage, Voting
Genre: Non Fiction, Biography
Reading Age: Middle Grade, Upper Middle Grade
Format: Book
Published: 2020


American History > Modern Age > Women's Suffrage

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

In 1920, Susan B. Anthony passed a law that gave voting rights to women in the United States. RIGHT?

WRONG! Susan B. Anthony wasn't even alive when the Nineteenth Amendment was ratified. Plus, it takes a lot more than one person to amend the constitution.

The truth is, it took millions of women to get that amendment into law. They marched! They picketed! They even went to jail. But in the end, it all came down to a letter from a state representative's mom. No joke.

Through illustrations, graphic panels, photographs, sidebars, and more, acclaimed author Kate Messner smashes history by exploring the little-known details behind the fight for women's suffrage.

Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower!

Other Similar Books

Other suggestions on the subject of Women's Suffrage.


Other suggestions from the series History Smashers.