Main Page

From History Book By Book
Jump to navigation Jump to search
History book by book logo.jpg
Welcome to History Book By Book,
Reading your way through history... one book at a time...

> We are currently recommending a total of (906) books, divided into (60) specific booklists on this website.

First Time Here? Check Out: Frequently Asked Questions | How Do I Use History Book By Book (HBBB)?

General Outline

Prehistory Booklist (4,500,000,000-6000 BCE)

  • Stone Age (2,600,000-3300 BCE)

Early Civilization Booklist (6000-3000 BCE)

  • Ancient China (6000-220 CE)
  • Mesopotamian Civilization (3500–500 BCE)
  • Indus Valley Civilization (3300–1900 BCE)
  • Bronze Age (3300-1200 BCE)
  • Ancient Egypt (3100-30 BCE)

Classical Age Booklist (3000 BCE-400 CE)

Early Medieval Booklist (400–699 CE)

High Middle Ages Booklist (700-1399 CE)

  • Vikings (790–1100)
  • Aztec Civilization (1345–1521)

Renaissance Booklist (1400-1599 CE)

Enlightenment Booklist (1600-1699 CE)

Age of Revolutions Booklist (1700-1839 CE)

Industrial Age Booklist (1840-1899 CE)

Modern Age Booklist (1900 CE - present)


See also: American History | African American History | Indigenous American History | Jewish History


List of All Booklists

Other Booklists

Why is HBBB a thing?

I am a list maker. I love organizing booklists, to-do lists, checklists of all kinds. I spend a great deal of my time researching books for my job and I’ve often found it frustrating that there isn’t one reliable resource where I can find an organized timeline of literature. So I’ve created one. I’ve set out to create a resource that will guide you on a literary adventure through history.

You can find books here on just about every time period or historical topic and for any age level. I’ve done my best to research and vet each title to ensure that this list is filled with living books. I’ve noted content warnings when necessary and my daughters and I have reviewed many of the titles recommended. This has been and will continue to be a labor of love, as we continue to build this website and update these book suggestions. I hope you find it helpful!

Thanks and Happy Reading, Emily

Emily's Favorites

History book by book.jpg

Most Recently Published Book Suggestions (2021)

Featured Weekly Book Suggestion - 11/22/2021

Modern Age
FirekeepersDaughter.jpg

Firekeeper's Daughter
Author: Boulley, Angeline
Buy at Amazon | BookShop.org

Time Period: Modern Age
Time Frame: 2004
Geographic Area: North America
Country: United States
Topics: Indigenous Americans, Ojibwe Nation, drug abuse
Genre: Fiction
Reading Age: Young Adult, Adult
Format: Novel
Published: 2021

Content Warning
drug abuse and addiction, violence, murder, sexual assault

American History > Modern Age > Indigenous American History

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” ―Good Morning America

A TIME Magazine Best YA Book of All Time Selection Amazon's Best YA Book of 2021 So Far (June 2021) A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions―and deaths―keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Emily's Review

This was a much-anticipated 2021 read and I'm so glad I finally got to it! I really enjoyed this story. Daunis is such a great character - she's strong and capable, but also has flaws and depth.

I really enjoyed learning more about Ojibwe culture, in fact, that was probably my favorite thing about this story. I just wish there could have been more show than tell, as at times, it felt a little info-dumpy. But that's just a quibble - I really enjoyed reading about their traditions, language, and natural medicine.

The plot was riveting - I don't normally read mystery/thrillers, so if there were any common tropes in here, I completely missed them. I loved the growing relationship between Daunis and Jamie and, of course, trying to guess who was behind the drugs and murders. I guessed part of it correctly but was still riveted as the investigation unfolded.

There are some trigger warnings to be aware of: drug abuse and addiction, sexual assault, and murder, so be aware of that going into the story. I feel that the author did a great job of writing about these topics in a sensitive and meaningful way that added to the story.

Overall, I thought this story was fascinating and compelling, and I highly recommend checking it out! Also, I listened to the audiobook alongside the e-book, and I thought the narration was fantastic!

Other Similar Books

Other suggestions on the subject of the Ojibwe Nation

  • Makoons (by: Erdrich, Louise, United States, Ojibwe Nation, Indigenous Americans, MG, UMG)
  • The Birchbark House (by: Erdrich, Louise, United States, Ojibwe Nation, Indigenous Americans, Plagues, MG, UMG)
  • The Game of Silence (by: Erdrich, Louise, United States, Ojibwe Nation, Indigenous Americans, MG, UMG)
  • The Porcupine Year (by: Erdrich, Louise, United States, Ojibwe Nation, Indigenous Americans, MG, UMG)
  • Chickadee (by: Erdrich, Louise, United States, Ojibwe Nation, Indigenous Americans, MG, UMG)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter (by: Boulley, Angeline, United States, Indigenous Americans, Ojibwe Nation, drug abuse, YA, A)

What's New:

Books. Lots of Books.

Other Links: